Club History

The Isles of Scilly nine hole links occupies the north east coastline of St Mary's and was carved - largely by hand - from clifftop scrub by farmers and a golf mad Dr Brushfield opening in 1904.

Dr Brushfield is known as the founding father of the Club. Dr Brushfield and his team of keen community members created the course to provide an unforgettable experience and relaxing getaway for the community of St Mary’s. Over the years, the Club has flourished regarding its numbers of members and amount of annual visitors, due to the combination of; increase in quality regrading the course; the rise of globalisation and ultimately, the stellar reputation both the Clubhouse and course has gained over time.

Originally, the course started as a 9 hole, but in the 1952 there were an additional 9 tees added to the existing 9 holes, meaning 18 hole competitions are played off 9 holes and from 18 different tees. The fairways, greens and bunkers have been developed in a way that utilises the nature features of the island, whilst also providing an optimised golfing experience considering the slopes and conditions that surrounds it.

The course, from which there are stunning views of a panorama of islands, can lean towards low scoring in benign conditions, but when the wind blows its exposed nature makes golf a hard test. The ball tends to sit up invitingly on the fairways but holding the ball on the greens can be difficult due to their relatively small size.

The course is just over 5900 yards in length and has a par of 73. Eighteen hole competitions mean playing the nine holes twice. Our signature hole, where down the years a number of "aces" have been recorded, is the short 109 yard 4th which requires an iron shot into a basin from a gorse surrounded tee spectacularly poised above the cliffs - a truly unique and euphoric experience.

The amateur course record - held by Mark Twynham is 66, professional - jointly held by George Ryall and Peter Evans - is 67.